How do Computers change the way we interact with written Content on the Web as opposed to a traditional essay or print newspaper article?

In the past before computers, people read article and books for reasons such as research, news updates, and just for fun. People have always been able to choose the book or article of their choice. Now, with computer and technology advancements, social networking and researching has evolved incredibly to provide a variety of information on the spot with less physical or mental activity. Yes, a person can still have a choice in what they read, but according to Nicholas Carr in “Is Google Making us Stupid” computers are, changing the way humans think. Carr explains that there are many advantages to the web and he believes the web has been a “godsend”, but feels as if every time he tries to emerge himself in a book his mind begins to, “drift” after a few pages. Carr has had conversations with friends and found he is not the only one feeling this way. Yes, he feels this is great for him as a writer, but also feels as if at the same time this could be changing the way he thinks. (Carr, 2008).

Carr could absolutely be correct on this matter. This computer and technology progression might make a person’s job or interest easier when it comes to researching, but at the same time this could also be changing the way people think. The Ted talk, “Beware online filter bubbles,” by Eli Pariser illustrates how Google, Facebook, Yahoo news and many other websites, “Flirt with Personalization”. This is called using filter bubbles. Pariser emphasizes on how, “Algorithmic” editing is widely used without knowledge which leads to an, “Epic struggle between present and future”.

As print takes a turn to the new age technology, there is no doubt that Carr’s illogicalities in, “Is Google making us stupid?” will or have changed the way we interact with written content. I feel somewhat the same as Carr when it comes to reading print material out of a book or article. I find myself falling asleep and failing to comprehend as quickly, which leads me to repeating my readings on one page a number of times. My composition on this is that, if I can gather the same knowledge on the web in 5 minutes as I can reading in written material for a long period of time, why not research the Web? This could partially be due to the fact that we all need to have an understanding of the matter and maximize the balance of material read and researched on the internet or as Pariser says we could be, “filled with Junk food”.

comps2

2 Comments

  1. I thought Eli’s presentation about Filter Bubbles couldn’t be more spot on. do you ever find yourself struggling to find the information your looking for on Google or other search engine because of the filter bubbles in place due to the analytics used to provide us with the content the computer thinks we want to see?

    • I agree, Eli gave a great explanation.
      As for your question in regards my personal struggles on resarching topics due to filter bubbles. No, I don’t find this an issue, but my circumstances are a little different. Depending on my location whether i am at work, school, home, or just on the go,I have access (and use regularly)4 different computers. I also allow my husband and children to use my computers, which in my opinion could possibly expand the filter bubbles compared to one person using one computer regularly.

      Thanks for the comment! Sounds like you just gave me another topic to research and expand on.

Leave a Reply

